Department of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong - Seminars
Seminar Convenors:

Prof. SONG Zheng Michael and Dr. MOK Kai Chung Wallace

Locations:Room 918, Esther Lee Building, Chung Chi College, CUHK
Date Time Speaker Affiliation Paper Title

04 Jan, 2017 (Wednesday)

14:30

Prof. Zhen Huo

Yale University

Organizational Equilibrium with Capital

17 Jan, 2017 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Shu Lin

Fudan University

FDI, Trade Credit, and Transmission of Global Liquidity Shocks: Evidence from Chinese Manufacturing Firms

23 Jan, 2017 (Monday)

14:30

Mr. Chaoran Chen

University of Toronto

(Job Talk)

Technology Adoption, Capital Deepening, and International Productivity Differences

08 Feb, 2017 (Wednesday)

14:30

Prof. Lingsheng Meng

Tsinghua University

(Job Talk)

Skill Complementarities and Returns to Higher Education: Evidence from the College Enrollment Expansion in China

01 Mar, 2017 (Wednesday)

14:00

Mr. Lisheng Wang

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Macroeconomics and Chinese Economy

03 Mar, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Xiaoxia Shi

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Estimating Semi-parametric Panel Multinomial Choice Models using Cyclic Monotonicity

08 Mar, 2017 (Wednesday)

10:00

Mr. Zhang Wu

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Big Data, Stock Market Volatility and Price Rigidity

09 Mar, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Jimmy Chan

Fudan University

Self-Evident Events and the Value of Linking

14 Mar, 2017 (Tuesday)

11:00

Prof. Victor Shih

University of California, San Diego

Predicting Authoritarian Selections: Theoretical and Machine Learning Predictions of Politburo Promotions for the 19th Party Congress of the Chinese Communist Party

17 Mar, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Pierre-André Chiappori

Columbia University

Partner Choice, Investment in Children, and the Marital College Premium

21 Mar, 2017 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Kalina Manova

University of Oxford

Managing Trade: Evidence from China and the US

24 Mar, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Dr. Xiaodong Fan

University of New South Wales

Parental Employment, Absence and Children's Educational Gender Gap

28 Mar, 2017 (Tuesday)

10:30

Ms. Yujie Han

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Development Economics in China

31 Mar, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Sheilagh Ogilvie

University of Cambridge

How Do Bad Institutions Survive? Lessons from European History

06 Apr, 2017 (Thursday)

11:00

Mr. Jianghui Chen

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Essays in Chinese Economy

10 Apr, 2017 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Xiaodong Zhu

University of Toronto

The Long and Short of Trade and Migration Reforms in China

13 Apr, 2017 (Thursday)

11:00

Prof. David Jacks

Simon Fraser University

Infant Mortality and the Repeal of Federal Prohibition

18 Apr, 2017 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Wei Cui

University College London

Default Cycles

20 Apr, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Alexis Toda

University of California, San Diego

Zipf's Law: A Microfoundation

21 Apr, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Phillip McCalman

The University of Melbourne

Empirics of Air Services Agreements: A Structural Model of Network Formation

25 Apr, 2017 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Johannes Van Biesebroeck

University of Leuven (KU Leuven)

Productivity, Exporting and Financial Constraints of Chinese SMEs

26 Apr, 2017 (Wednesday)

14:30

Ms. Chang Li

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Banking and Corporate Finance

27 Apr, 2017 (Thursday)

10:00

Mr. Song Zhan

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Location: Room 304, Esther Lee Building, CUHK

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Ultimate Control and Firm Performance in China

28 Apr, 2017 (Friday)

11:00

Mr. Rufei Guo

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Family Economics with Applications to China

28 Apr, 2017 (Friday)

12:30

Ms. Yuan Hu

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Intergenerational Mobility, Sex Ratios, and Marriage Market in China

02 May, 2017 (Tuesday)

09:30

Mr. Yifei Zhang

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on Cross-Border Capital Flows

04 May, 2017 (Thursday)

10:00

Mr. XInyi Xu

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Essays on contract theory and social network

05 May, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Gabriel Carroll

Stanford University

Information Acquisition and Robust Trading Mechanisms

12 May, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Heng Liu

University of Michigan

Information Spillover and Delay in Multilateral Bargaining with Adverse Selection

17 May, 2017 (Wednesday)

14:30

Prof. Naoki Aizawa

University of Minnesota

Local Market Equilibrium and the Design of Public Health Insurance System

18 May, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Chong Xiang

Purdue University

Educational Quality along Multiple Dimensions: A Cross-Country Analysis

19 May, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Ji Hyung Lee

University of Illinois

Nonstandard Limit Theory in Predictive Quantile Regressions

24 May, 2017 (Wednesday)

14:30

Prof. Susan Zhu

Michigan State University

Global Engagement and the Occupational Structure of Firms

25 May, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Bryan Graham

University of California, Berkeley

Homophily and Transitivity in Dynamic Network Formation

26 May, 2017 (Friday)

10:30

Prof. Florian Mayneris

Université catholique de Louvain

Providing Services to Boost Goods Exports: Theory and Evidence

26 May, 2017 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. David Miller

University of Michigan

Seeking Relationship Support: Strategic Network Formation and Robust Cooperation

01 Jun, 2017 (Thursday)

11:00

Mr. Yixin Yang

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

An Economic Analysis of Pension Programs in China

01 Jun, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. James Markusen

University of Colorado Boulder

Per Capita Income and the Demand for Skills

08 Jun, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Lin William Cong

University of Chicago

Blockchain Disruption and Smart Contracts

13 Jun, 2017 (Tuesday)

11:00

Prof. Andrew Foster

Brown University

Are There Too Many Farms? Input Transactions Costs, Mechanization, and the Allocation of Land

15 Jun, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Yongmin Chen

University of Colorado Boulder

Experience Goods, Consumer Search, and Intermediaries

19 Jun, 2017 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Fuhito Kojima

Stanford University

Matching with Constraints

22 Jun, 2017 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Rafael Dix-Carneiro

Duke University

Economic Shocks and Crime: Evidence from the Brazilian Trade Liberalization