Department of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong - Seminars
Seminar Convenors:

Prof. Jimmy Chan, Prof. Naijia Guo and Prof. Chong Kee Yip

Locations:Room 918, Esther Lee Building, Chung Chi College, CUHK
Date Time Speaker Affiliation Paper Title

03 Sep, 2020 (Thursday)

09:00

Prof. Fei Li

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

A Model of Sequential Crisis Management

09 Sep, 2020 (Wednesday)

11:15

Prof. Alessandro Rebucci

Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Voluntary and Mandatory Social Distancing: Evidence on COVID-19 Exposure Rates from Chinese Provinces and Selected Countries

10 Sep, 2020 (Thursday)

15:00

Prof. Stephan Lauermann

University of Bonn

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Auctions with Frictions

23 Sep, 2020 (Wednesday)

11:15

Dr. Jun Nie

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Unemployment Insurance during a Pandemic

30 Sep, 2020 (Wednesday)

09:00

Prof. Jie Bai

Harvard Kennedy School

Hong Kong Trade Seminar

Quid Pro Quo, Knowledge Spillover and Industrial Upgrading

06 Oct, 2020 (Tuesday)

09:00

Prof. Isaiah Andrews

Harvard University

Econometrics Seminar

Optimal Decision Rules for Weak GMM

09 Oct, 2020 (Friday)

11:15

Prof. Ludwig Straub

Harvard University & NBER

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Indebted Demand

12 Oct, 2020 (Monday)

16:00

Prof. Sebastian Schweighofer-Kodritsch

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Principled Mechanism Design with Evidence

14 Oct, 2020 (Wednesday)

09:00

Prof. Davin Chor

Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth

Hong Kong Trade Seminar

Contracting Frictions in Global Sourcing: Implications for Welfare

19 Oct, 2020 (Monday)

09:30

Prof. Kyungmin Kim

Emory University

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Competition under Moment Conditions

21 Oct, 2020 (Wednesday)

09:00

Prof. Brian Kovak

Carnegie Mellon University

Trade Seminar

The Long-Run Labor Market Effects of the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement

23 Oct, 2020 (Friday)

11:15

Prof. Simon Mongey

The University of Chicago and NBER

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Firm and Worker Dynamics in a Frictional Labor Market

27 Oct, 2020 (Tuesday)

09:00

Prof. Tim Christensen

New York University

Econometrics Seminar

Counterfactual Sensitivity and Robustness

30 Oct, 2020 (Friday)

09:30

Prof. Vitor Farinha Luz

The University of British Columbia

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Risk Classification in Insurance Markets with Risk and Preference Heterogeneity

 

05 Nov, 2020 (Thursday)

15:00

Dr. Kota Murayama

Hitotsubashi University

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Social Value of Information in Networked Economies

06 Nov, 2020 (Friday)

11:15

Dr. Daisuke Ikeda

Bank of Japan

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Bank Runs as Coordination Failures in an Infinite Horizon Economy

11 Nov, 2020 (Wednesday)

17:00

Eric Verhoogen

Columbia University

Hong Kong Trade Seminar

Estimating Production Functions in Differentiated-Product Industries with Quantity Information and External Instruments

19 Nov, 2020 (Thursday)

15:00

Prof. Tony Ke

CUHK Business School

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

A Theory of Brand Positioning: Product-Portfolio View

20 Nov, 2020 (Friday)

11:15

Prof. Wen-Tai Hsu

Singapore Management University

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Between Lives and Economy: Optimal COVID-19 Containment Policy in Open Economies

24 Nov, 2020 (Tuesday)

09:00

Prof. Markus Pelger

Stanford University

Econometrics Seminar

Large Dimensional Latent Factor Modeling with Missing Observations and Applications to Causal Inference

26 Nov, 2020 (Thursday)

15:00

Prof. Wing Suen

The University of Hong Kong

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Signaling under Double-Crossing Preferences

02 Dec, 2020 (Wednesday)

16:30

Prof. Frank Pisch

University of St. Gallen

Hong Kong Trade Seminar

Managing Global Production: Theory and Evidence from Just-in-Time Supply Chains

04 Dec, 2020 (Friday)

11:15

Prof. James Graham

RBNZ, The University of Sydney

VEAMS-Virtual East Asia Macroeconomics Seminar Series

Industry, Age, and Unemployment Risk During a Pandemic Recession

09 Dec, 2020 (Wednesday)

16:30

Prof. Yuan Zi

University of Oslo

Hong Kong Trade Seminar

Trade from Space: Shipping Networks and The Global Implications of Local Shock

14 Dec, 2020 (Monday)

16:00

Prof. Antonio Penta

Universitat Pompeu Fabra

CUHK-HKU-HKUST Joint Theory Seminar

Attitudes Towards Success and Failure

16 Dec, 2020 (Wednesday)

09:00

Prof. Ken Kikkawa

The University of British Columbia

Hong Kong Trade Seminar

Two-Sided Market Power in Firm-to-Firm Trade

22 Dec, 2020 (Tuesday)

14:00

Dr. Merrick Li

University of Cambridge

Job Talk

A ReMeDI for Microstructure Noise