Department of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong - Seminars
Seminar Convenors:

Prof. Jimmy Chan, Prof. Naijia Guo and Prof. Chong Kee Yip

Locations:Room 918, Esther Lee Building, Chung Chi College, CUHK
Date Time Speaker Affiliation Paper Title

04 Sep, 2018 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Chenggang Xu

Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business

Does Financial Regulation Matter? Market Volatility and the US 1933/1934 Acts

06 Sep, 2018 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Yanhui Wu

University of Southern California Marshall

Competition, Contracts, and Creativity: Evidence from Novel Writing in a Platform Market

14 Sep, 2018 (Friday)

14:30

Dr. Arnold Polanski

University of East Anglia

Communication Networks, Externalities and the Price of Information

24 Sep, 2018 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Haichao Fan

Fudan University

The Hidden Cost of Trade Liberalization: Input Tariff Shocks and Worker Health in China

08 Oct, 2018 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Yuanyuan Wan

University of Toronto

Testing Identifying Assumptions in Fuzzy Regression Discontinuity Designs

09 Oct, 2018 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Federico Echenique

California Institute of Technology

Fairness and Efficiency for Probabilistic Allocations with Endowments

10 Oct, 2018 (Wednesday)

14:30

Prof. Kjell Salvanes

Norwegian School of Economics

Grandparents, Moms, or Dads? Why Children of Teen Mothers Do Worse in Life

11 Oct, 2018 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. John McLaren

University of Virginia

NAFTA and the Wages of Married Women

24 Oct, 2018 (Wednesday)

14:30

Prof. John Ham

New York University Abu Dhabi

Selection, Gender and the Impact of Schooling Type in the Dhaka Slums

29 Oct, 2018 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Dan Lu

University of Rochester

Misallocation under Trade Liberalization

30 Oct, 2018 (Tuesday)

09:30

Ms. Jingyi Huang

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(Pre-graduation seminar)

Three Essays on High-Dimensional Econometrics

30 Oct, 2018 (Tuesday)

11:00

Prof. Dominic Rohner

University of Lausanne

Education and Conflict: Evidence from a Policy Experiment in Indonesia

01 Nov, 2018 (Thursday)

14:30

Prof. Daniel Berkowitz

University of Pittsburgh

Transparency and Corruption: Evidence from a Website Reform

03 Dec, 2018 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Matthew Shum

California Institute of Technology

Neuroeconomic Decision Making in the Field: Response Times in Mobile Advertising

11 Dec, 2018 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Atsushi Kajii

Kyoto University

Intertemporal Efficiency Does Not Imply a Common Price Forecast

14 Dec, 2018 (Friday)

14:30

Prof. Eran Shmaya

Northwestern University

TBA

17 Dec, 2018 (Monday)

14:30

Prof. Jang-Ting Guo

University of California, Riverside

Progressive Taxation, Nominal Wage Rigidity, and Business Cycle (De)stabilization

18 Dec, 2018 (Tuesday)

14:30

Prof. Chao Fu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

TBA