Department of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong - News

[The 2017/18 Excellent Undergraduate Paper Awards]

Every year, CUHK Economics gives up to seven Excellent Undergraduate Papers Awards. Students competing for the awards are the authors of either term papers that score an "A'' or papers our teachers nominate. 7 teams were awarded this year, 3 from the junior division and 4 from the senior division. Tina Jinci LIU’s paper wins the Mirrlees Award. Congratulations!


The senior division

1) Tina Jinci LIU (Mirrlees Award)
"Born to succeed? – The effects of birth order on academic performances and peer effects" (Supervisor: Prof. Bo CHEN)

2) Ye HU
“How does new southbound policy affect Taiwan’s economic dependence on Mainland China?” (Supervisor: Prof. Yifan ZHANG)

3) Siyi LI
“Effects of ethnic diversity on economic performance – Evidence from prefecture-level cities of China” (Supervisor: Prof. Yifan ZHANG)

4) Yuhan ZHAO
“What are the main factors which affect the adaptions of Chinese web novels to TV series and movies? – A logistic regression analysis of Jinjiang website” (Supervisor: Prof. Yifan ZHANG)

The junior division

1) Chen HUANG, Hui Lai POON and Wai Lam TANG (1st Prize)
"A model of annual pass" (Supervisor: Dr. Vinci CHOW)

2) Mingpei LI, Seokweon JEONG, Shiqi JIA and Sihan ZHANG (1st Runner-up)
"Market research on the online food delivery service industry in Mainland China" (Supervisor: Dr. Vinci CHOW)

3) Cheuk Wang CHAN, Wai Ying KAN, Ki Ki SHI and Yu Hang TAM (2nd Runner-up)
“An analytical study on the causes and effects of HKSAR’s cash handout policy" (Supervisor: Prof. Ce SHI)

If you are interested in the Information Session, please register at:

3 - 5 June 2017 (Saturday - Monday)



Yasumoto International Academic Park (YIA), The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), Shatin, Hong Kong


Important Dates

Paper Submission Deadline: 15 February 2017 (Wednesday)

Decision Notification Deadline: 6 March 2017 (Monday)

Preliminary Program Announcement: 31 March 2017 (Friday)

Registration Period: 6 March 2017 (Monday) - 30 April 2017 (Sunday) (**Early Bird Registration Period: 6 March 2017 (Monday) - 31 March 2017 (Friday))


More Details